Cook , who me, you must be joking !

My first ever Roast Chicken made during the long Easter weekend !

My first ever PROMFRET fish curry made in London !

ok, so why have I shared all these pictures before I started writing , because it is to prove that even I do now manage to somehow come up with food that looks GREAT , there was a time when I was a complete and total disaster in the kitchen and all my close friends and family secretly saved a whole list of excuses to use when I offered them anything that I had cooked !

To be honest I end up making the best food when I cook for people I really like having over as guests or when I am inspired to conjure up something new . After having move dto London early this year in February and having to face the hard facts that there is no way I can have someone come and cook HOT Roti’s for me or chop vegetables which I then just throw into a pan and rustle up a quick meal , I had to start cooking . I did make some initial huge errors but then with the help of a very sweet husband who encouraged me , a pal who started her own food blog recently to stay sane in all the loneliness that surrounds one’s new life in a new city with few pals and no job(She is a Jain and all her recipes are JAIN but she has a way of making YUMMY food from innocent and unusual ingredients,trust me I have eaten many of her creations! and yes she is an artist she does what I call Food ART and her husband who is great friends with my hubby and me is an awesome photographer and helps her with her blog – so check out her blog by going here – http://www.jainfoodie.com/) and also of course the many brilliant and talented cooks out there in the blogosphere who not only can cook awesome food but also share their secrets on the web . One such fav is this famous blog run by 2 very savvy Gujrati ladies in “AMRIKA ” . Please check out the link as they have amazing videos to help you save money by storing expensive herbs and condiments which Indian cooking needs ALWAYS and is not so easily available as it is in India.
http://showmethecurry.com/
Kudos Ladies , keep the good work going !

Hell yeah there is even a blog written by a Maharashtrian lady living abroad about how to make SOFT CHAPATIS , I almost fell off my chair as that was exactly my search string on Google ! Imagine my surprise and guess what her tips really worked , for all the spoilt girls like me whose mums don’t let them enter the kitchen and then have loving mother in laws like mine who are so sweet about having a daughter in law who is an absolute lost case in the kitchen !Her blog has pictures and step wise instructions , thanks to her my chapatis are now not only soft , I don’t fret over making them and of course they are a light and filling alternative to eating rice daily which honestly makes me feel very stodgy and podgy ,though don’t get me wrong , am a RICE LOVER and can make one helluva Chicken Biryani !
http://www.aayisrecipes.com/2006/07/30/chapathi-and-phulkas/

Of course my obsession with cookery shows and being in a family where my mother,my mother in law and her mother my ONLY favourite grandmother with whom I have spent the happiest times in my life , I am not new to watching cookery shows , but food blogs is taking it to the next level I’d say !
There was a Marathi cookery show that aired in the afternoon ,I loved watching it with “aaji” -Marathi for grandmother , especially after having greedily gobbled copious amounts of prawn khichadi made by her ,she is 80 plus and a superb cook, I hug her fragile frame and while trying hard not to doze off we used to stay glued to the telly and try and watch this show , now why is that at such apt times I conveniently forget which channel and what was the show called , aah! wait wait I do remember after all , it was called “AMHI SARV KHAVAYE” and aired on ZEE MARATHI !

I am a mental fan of Nigella Lawson , she looks a million bucks and cooks like a dreamboat . I love Jamie Oliver and cannot wait to purchase his books , he is charming , makes cooking look easy which is why I love his 30 minute meal shows , he once said ,”if you have rubbish knife skills,like me , just chop the ginger and roughly get the skin , don’t worry about how it looks ” Oh God after that day I always always think of him every time I see GINGER OR CHOP IT !!!! He is a FOOD GOD and with a passion so deep it’s infectious .

I watched Anthony Bourdain purely for his drool value , he has that face which makes me swoon ,something like my favourite older men fantasy guy George Clooney ,sigh sigh ,double sighhh !

Chinese food , who doesn’t love Chinese food , so Australian born Chinese origin Kylie Kwong’s show is pure viewing delight ! I could almost smell the aroma of her food wafting out of the television screen and assaulting my olfactory system mercilessly causing me to make a mad dash for the phone and order some chinese from my fav take away place back home in Pune ! Those were the days when I didn’t worry about if a place home delivered and Indian style chinese was what I thought was the eral deal . But not anymore no sir , after coming to London , I have eaten chinese food made by restaurants run by Chinese , Thai and Hongkong immigrants who make AUTHENTIC finger licking food , My current favourites are steamed dim-sums …..oooo la la and of course SUSHI !

Speaking of SUSHI so inspired was I by it that I can safely say it was LOVE AT FIRST BITE my friends ! I am now the proud owner of a sushi rolling mat – sounds sinister doesn’t it cause when I’d say I rolled my FIRST sushi …my mind automatically takes me to a clip of the original Dum maro dum song of Zeenat Aman looking sexy and doped in an orange Hare Rama Hare Krishna garb and lying blissfully lost with a group of junkies high on grass or whatever else it was ! (She was a bold and hot lady who revolutionized the concept of western clothes in Bollywood Movies in the 70’s as she romanced the hottest leading male stars and held her own space and how , she was and still is extremely beautiful , elegant and pretty and carries her self with a class that very few heroines of her day could boast of !)
But no this is just an innocent straw mat which will enable me to roll out SUSHI like a pro well at least am hoping it does and yes the credit for this goes to these 3 enthu bloggers and their articles which I read , thanks folks !!
http://www.diy-sushi-recipes.com/sushi-for-beginners.html
http://www.sushi-guide.co.uk/sushi-seaweed-nori.aspx
http://www.imakesushi.com/ (THIS ONE IS MY FAV !)

I must admit here though that in spite of all these new obsessions and many great cooks who I love to bits my original favourites will always be TARLA DALAL and SANJEEV KAPPOR ,why ? Because Tarla Dalal’s books were precious hand me downs years ago and she made it big in an era where blogs, Facebook and Twitter did not exist. Sanjeev Kapoor is the original INDIAN pioneer in the world of popularising Indian Cusine by his awesome telly show – KHANA KHAZANA – which had housewives across every vilage , town , district , state , city and household in India stay glued to the television and participate in SMS and call back cookery competition quizzes with a frenzy only equaled or out done probably by the great KBC- Kaun Banega Crorepati – the Indian version of the popular WHO WANTS TO BE A MILLIONAIRE , the show that caused MASS HYSTERIA and enjoyed the highest T.R.P ratings ever all thanks to the dynamic,charismatic and superbly talented AMITABH BACCHAN , his baritone can keep a nation of billions mesmerized from the very first word ! I am a fan of Shahrukh Khan too but he simply couldn’t match up to what the BIG B did for the KBC , in the 3rd season when KBC was back I vividly recollect seeing several episodes of teary eyed participants and audience literally worshiping the ground he walks on such is the start power of the great Mr.Bacchan . sigh…. I am mentally seeing him sitting majestically like a wise old lion on the KBC chair and his intelligent eyes sparkling and his slow smile on his handsome face with the salt and pepper beard as he speaks HINDI so lucidly that it sounds like he is reciting poetry . His is articulate , has an amazing command over both Hindi and English and has that special quality which makes people tell him all their secrets on national television LIVE !

Well, well after all this talk about food , I had to take a small lunch break and am back ! I had some soft home made chapatis with a watery cauliflower and green pea curry and some awesomely soft potato sabji ,simple as hell ,not too HOT just right .
Yawnnnnnnn, no no , cannot afford to feel sleepy even if I haven’t slept too well last night , my dear pal Insomnia is visiting again, I went to bed at the unearthly hour of 3 am and woke up at 8:30 am …zzzzzzzzzzzz, huh wazzat , gosh ooooo, was I writing a blog , time to sign off folks …THUD …loud sound follows me crashing on nose down on my laptop,ooooo ouch , where is the damned bedroom door I say …..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

signed by a fast asleep M of PMS ….gentle snoring follows šŸ™‚

About 3deviyaan

We are women...do we still need to explain ?
This entry was posted in Kitchen Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

